7 Steps to Happier Winter Skin

This winter seems to be dragging on and on, with no end in sight. We have another winter storm warning on the horizon! Gaaah! I am nearly fed up with the snow, ice, and cold wind. But my face was fed up back in January. With terrible breakouts combined with flaky dry patches, my skin was becoming a hot mess. I decided to get my act together, and start babying my face and I’ve seen a huge improvement in the past month. I think you will be surprised by what was the most important change!
image

  1. Removing make up every night. I know some people are religious about this, but I am not one of them. If I stay up past my usual bedtime, or heaven forbid, have a few drinks, no make up is coming off. Please don’t judge me too harshly! But after developing dry skin around my eyes and clogged pores on my cheeks, it was time to get serious. At a bare minimum, I remove my make up and do a quick cleanse with L’Oreal’s Micellar Water and some cotton pads. If I’m feeling ambitious, I follow that with my trusty Sukin Cream Cleanser.
  2. Exfoliating more often. This is another one people might read and think “psh, I am all over this”. But I am a disorganized lady and will forgot about exfoliating my face for way too long. Every few days I now use that same Sukin Cream Cleanser and lather it on my face using a soft wash cloth to help remove any dry skin and really  work the cleanser into my pores. I’m on the hunt for a proper exfoliating solution but I am wary of anything too aggressive.
  3. Using oil then moisturizer. I have found that I absolutely need to prime my face with rose hip oil before applying my Sukin Facial Moisturizer. One or the other is not sufficient in this dry, windy weather. But combined, I am invincible!
  4. Keeping facial moisturizer at work. I have realized that the heating in cars, buses, and my workplace have added to my dry skin woes. To combat this, I now keep an emergency moisturizer on my desk at work. I am a huge fan of Simple’s Natural Beauty facial moisturizer for a mid day pick-me-up if my face is feeling flaky.
  5. Drinking lots of water. We have all seen the two camps debating the benefits of drinking water on dry skin. Some articles claim there is no direct link, while others argue that staying hydrated internally will provide external benefits. In my personal experience, I feel uncomfortable inside and out when I’m not drinking enough liquids, so I am pro-hydrating for clear skin. This winter, I’ve tried to drink herbal and green teas in addition to water, so I am not constantly drinking cold liquids.
  6. Changing pillow cases and bed sheets more often. While I try to be good and change my bed linen regularly, I have seen a definite improvement in my skin by washing pillow cases even more often. We (should) spend 8 hours a night rubbing our faces all over our pillow cases, so oils, moisturizers, and hair products will find their way into the fabric (I also wonder about my cuticle oil getting all over the place..). So keep that baby clean and your skin will thank you!
  7. Washing scarves regularly. This is the one that surprised me! So you know how pillow cases need to get washed.. well, scarves need love too. It had never occurred to me until I was finding most of my skin issues were at nose level or lower. Depending on how cold it is outside, I might wear the same scarf several days in a row. And if the work place is cold, I will wear that bad boy all day long. All sorts of make up, oil, and other products were touching my face for hours at a time, day after day. Now I am trying a scarf rotation, and making sure to wash all my worn scarves once a week.

I hope some of these tips speak to you! And we get some spring soon..

Leave a Reply

