8 Tips to Spring Clean Your Life

giphy9

Spring is finally (sorta) here! We’ve had a handful of gorgeous days in Ottawa, and everyone is a grumpy bear waking up from hibernation. It is literally like every movie scene where someone comes into the light for the first time: people are shielding their eyes, blinking in wonder, experiencing warmth on their face for the first time (in 6 months). It’s a beautiful time to be alive! After seeing the sun for the first time in many weeks, I am feeling inspired to clean up my life in every way to make for a happy, and healthy spring. I’ve compiled a list of ways I plan on tidying up my home, phone, and life to help inspire you to do the same.

  1. Delete old emails. I often read an email and then promptly forget about it. Our shared email address currently has infinite emails at this point, most of which we will never need again. I hope to sit down one evening and file the important emails and delete everything else. It would be nice to be able to find a recipe I emailed myself 6 months ago, without scrolling for 20 minutes.giphy6
  2. Unsubscribe to junk mail. Brian does this every so often, and it is amazing. We were receiving several emails a day from certain retailers we hardly ever shopped with. By taking the time to click “unsubscribe” and jump through those hoops, you can help keep your inbox under control.
  3. Declutter your phone. Once in a while, I try to go through my apps and see if there are any I haven’t used for months. My phone is limited to 16 GB, which I find fills up VERY quickly. So if I have an app I haven’t used for 6 months, that means it is taking up precious space. Except Hay Day.. I love those damn sheep. I also like to drag most of my photos onto a hard drive every 3-4 months. That way I can save them for the one time I need them, but they are not filling up my phone for no reason. I keep a few of Brian, and the fur babies, but otherwise it is nice to have an almost empty image folder.
  4. Wash your pillows. While most people wash their pillow cases frequently, I definitely forget that the pillow itself could use some freshening up. Make sure to follow any specific instructions for your pillow, but most can be thrown in the wash like anything else. It is like a breath of fresh air to have a completely clean and germ-free pillow. giphy7
  5. Take everything out of your dresser/shelves, sort, and re-fold. In my dresser drawers, things can be a bit of a mess. I have tank tops, socks, etc. that start out beautifully folded and organized, but after a while it becomes a free-for-all. I find it very relaxing to throw everything out of the drawers, wash anything that smells musty, pull out anything I haven’t worn in some time, and nicely fold it all again. This way I rediscover things I have forgotten about and can wear again, or I can get rid of them and make some space.
  6. Donate anything you haven’t worn in a year. Just like going through my dresser, I also enjoy going through my closet and taking stock of what’s going on in there. If I haven’t worn it in a year, I probably won’t again. So I either put it in a box to keep out of the way (usually if the size is a little off), or in a bag for donations.
  7. Toss old cosmetics/bath and body products. Go through your cosmetics, body lotions, etc. and reference the little month symbol. Have you had it opened for longer than that? You should probably toss it. I know it is difficult but your body will thank you.giphy8
  8. Sanitize all your beauty implements. Most people are very good about cleaning their make-up brushes these days, but I definitely forget to disinfect other related tools like tweezers, nail clippers, etc. If a tool is used anywhere on your body, be sure to give it a good cleaning to prevent irritation or infection.

Do you have any other tips for spring cleaning?

(Gifs courtesy of Giphy.com)

Leave a Reply

