The Review – Sahara Tea April in Paris

imageFirstly, thanks for coming back after I took a few days off blogging. At this point in my life, I can hardly manage to get out of bed in the morning, let alone planning and writing blog posts! One thing I am always keen to tell the world about, however, is tea. My Mom finds the most fun teas from local shops. This has allowed me to amass quite the tea collection. I am quite proud of it. If the zombie apocalypse were to go down, I could go years without scavenging new teas. Anyways, enough with the zombie talk and on to April in Paris.

I don’t know about the weather where you are but here in Ottawa, this April is not inspiring comparisons to Paris. With an actual snow storm taking place, it is hard to imagine flowers blooming, baguettes baking, or even grass growing. To help me forget about all that crap, I am reaching for more spring time teas and pretending I don’t care about April snow.

One of those spring teas was a gift from my Mom, from the inimitable Mrs. McGarrigles in Merrickville. Sahara Tea is a premium wellness tea company based in Toronto, Ontario with online shopping and stock in various retailers around the world. Unfortunately it seems they no longer offer their April in Paris tea on their website, however it is still offered by some retailers. On the Sahara Tea website they now have a range of teas in 5 categories: Refreshing, Calming, Energizing, Purifying, and Slimming. I am always a little dubious of anything marketed as slimming mostly because I will eat 4 scones, drink some slimming tea and call it a day. But I digress!

Sahara Tea describes this blend as “a stylish blend of black tea, blue French lavender and rose petals. Ooh-la-la flowery and delicious. It takes you from ordinary to extraordinary!”. I can confirm these claims, it is indeed flowery and delicious. There is also some fruit flavour hiding in there, although I can’t exactly put my finger on it.

In the tin, this tea has a wonderful floral scent with that sneaky fruit hint. Once steeped, those scents are intensified and create a typical black tea reddish liquid. I know I am always harping on specific steeping times but I can’t stress it enough.. don’t oversteep this tea! It quickly becomes bitter and ruins the whole light floral flavour. While this is a nice caffinated tea for when you want something a little different, I don’t think I would replace it once finished. I like milk in my black teas and that doesn’t work so well with anything floral.

image

Recommended preparation: 1 tsp per cup for 2-3 minutes at 200F

  • What: Sahara Tea April in Paris
  • Where: Online and in store at some retailers
  • How much: $$ – Treat yo self
  • Should you: Maybe, if you enjoy floral black teas

How do you feel about floral teas?

Leave a Reply

